Really? We Need to Spend Money on THIS?

OK, Oprah has truly lost it.  She thinks the world would be a better place if we all just learn to ‘just say hello.’  If I run into Oprah one day soon and ‘just say hello,’ do you think it will really brighten her day?  Did they really get Jennifer Aniston, Ellen DeGeneres and Tom Hanks to participate in this?  Or did they just find clips of everyone saying ‘hello?’  Hello, I think they really think they are part of something big here.  Now, I know I sound SO cynical, I guess I could be wrong.  But watch this and see if you agree:

Dr. Sanjay Gupta, author and former advisor to Hillary Clinton, tries to make this credible by explaining the importance of personal contact.  (I smell a new book club book coming soon…) This is true, as we get lost in the world of social media more and more.  But how ironic is it that Oprah is asking you to Tweet, Vine, Facebook etc your ‘say hello’ moments?  Isn’t the point to increase ‘face-to-face’ contact?

The U.K.’s Daily Mail has noted that Julia Roberts is part of the campaign.  Julia’s half-sister just died of a drug overdose, and was apparently very sad and lonely and tweeted not-so-nice things about ‘America’s sweetheart.’  So does #justsayhello need Julia, or does Julia need this for a PR move?  See I told you I was cynical.  Gotta go, I need to call all those long lost friends posting on Facebook and make sure I just say hello.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

